Ten Clubs Share District I Awards

Cheverly, MD, March 10, 2011: Ten District I clubs received awards certificates at the annual District I awards meeting hosted by Cheverly Garden Club.
2011 District I Awards Program

Those accepting awards for their respective clubs were (from left): District I Awards Chairman Danielle Brabazon for Woodmoor Garden Club, Dee Droter for Tanta-Cove Garden Club, Donna Aldridge for Paint Branch Garden Club, Norma Hetrick for New Carrollton Garden Club, Julie Harrison for Mount Airy Clay Breakers Garden Club, Barbara Pejokovich for Cheverly Garden Club, and District I Director David Healy for Capitol Hill Garden Club:

During the awards program, District I Director David Healy gave certificates of appreciation to members of the District I Board: Ann Gardenhour, Margaret McKnew, Charmane Turesdell, Dee Droter, Arleen Ankeney, Christine Hambach, Healy, Sonia Johnson, Danielle Brabizon and Norma Merritt:

During the business meeting, NCAGC Second Vice President Babs McClendon delivered messages from President Mary Ellen Alden and First Vice President Vickie Godwin who were attending a stakeholders meeting at the U.S. National Arboretum.

Door prizes went to Jackie George (left) of Mount Airy Clay Breakers Garden Club and Camille McIntye of Tanta-Cove Garden Club:

Arbor House Treasurer Carolyn Casey Kneipp presided over a trunk show from the gift shop at the U.S. National Arboretum.
--Photos by Oliver Smith