Blue Star Memorial Dedication at Congressional Cemetery

May 29, 2011: On the occasion of their 82d annual convention, which for the first time was held in the District of Columbia, National Garden Clubs, Inc., dedicated a Blue Star Memorial at historic Congressional Cemetery.

From left: Past NGC Blue Star Chairman Maria Nahom, NCAGC Blue Star Chairman Marion Caldwell, NGC Blue Star Chairman Jimmie Meinhardt, NGC President Renee Blaschke, NCAGC District I Director David Healy and NGC President-Elect Shirley Nicolai:
NGC President Renee Blaschke presented the memorial to Cindy Hays, Executive Director of Congressional Cemetery:
The United States Armed Forces were represented by Col. Monica Midgette of the United States Air Force (center left); The Honor Guard represented the District of Columbia National Guard:

Members of the NGC board (starting third from left): Barbara May, Sandra Robinson, Deen Day Sanders, Linda Nelson, Renee Blaschke, Shirley Nicolai, Barbara Mikkelson, and Robin Pokorski.
NCAGC members with NGC President Renee Blaschke. From left: NCAGC President Vickie Godwin, Danielle Brabazon, Charmane Truesdell, David Healy, Shirley Nicolai, Blaschke, Ann Gardenhour, Marion Caldwell, Libby Coffee, Babs McClendon, Estelle Woodcock and Julie Harrison.
District I board members with NCAGC President Vickie Godwin and NGA President-Elect Shirley Nicolai who is a District I member. From left: Godwin, Charmane Truesdell, David Healy, Nicolai, Ann Gardenhour and Danielle Brabizon.

--photos by Bill Dean